## Bibiana Taboada and Mauricio Villamizar took office as Board Members of Banco de la República

The President, Iván Duque Márquez, officially invested the new members of the Board of Directors of Banco de la República, Ms. Bibiana Taboada Arango and Mr. Mauricio Villamizar Villegas, at a ceremony held at Casa de Nariño. These prominent economists will serve on the Central Bank's Board of Directors replacing Ms. Ana Fernanda Maiguashca and Mr. Gerardo Hernández.

During the inauguration, the President recognized the respective careers of the new Board Members, and stated that "a new generation of economists and technocrats with a great patriotic sense and trajectory has arrived, crediting what will be a permanent service vocation to accompany the institution's independence as foreign exchange, monetary, and credit authority."

The President highlighted economist Bibiana Taboada's rigor, together with her professional and academic experience. "I am honored that (Ms. Taboada) accepted to join the Board of Directors of *Banco de la República*, bringing the Board's discussion to social issues linked to the structural policies that the Constitution and the law have established are to be led by our central bank." He added that Ms. Taboada "also represents a new generation of talented, honorable, and patriotic women economists. I augur for her success. Her participation will enrich multiple debates."

President Duque also highlighted that Mauricio Villamizar has made his career inside the Central Bank, "to which he arrived at a young age, but with an unquestionable academic background, having reached the position as Chief Officer for Economic Studies." He added, "I have no doubt that you will add value to the debates within the Board and that you will continue to pave the way for this new generation of economists to project themselves in the next few decades."

Fecha de publicación Wednesday, February 24, 2021 - 12:00 Hora 14:45

Print